Georgia Film Critics Association

Photo courtesy of GFCA

The Georgia Film Critics Association (GAFCA) was created in 2011 with the intention to promote film criticism and the film industry within the state of Georgia.  While critics groups are prevalent in many parts of the country, the GAFCA is the first of its kind to be based solely in the state of Georgia. The group currently has 24 members working as critics in broadcast, print and on-line genres.

READ MORE: Kung Fu - 'Bloodline'

The Georgia Film Critics Association (of which I am a member) has picked their 2015 award winners.  Overall “Mad Max: Fury Road” won four awards including Best Picture and Best Director for George Miller.

2015 has been Alicia Vikander’s year, and she won two awards for Best Supporting Actress (“Ex Machina”) and the Breakthrough Award.  “Inside Out” won two awards for Best Original Screenplay and Best Animated Film.

Sylvester Stallone won the Best Supporting Actor Award in the tightest voting race in the history of the Association. Only 5 points separated all the nominees. Benicio Del Toro (“Sicario”) and newcomer Jacob Tremblay (“Room”) were both only one point behind Stallone.

“Ant-Man” was given the Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema. To be eligible for the Oglethorpe Award the film has to have been produced in the state of Georgia.  Past winners of the Oglethorpe Award have been “Selma” (2014) and “The Spectacular Now” (2013).


Best Picture
“Mad Max: Fury Road”

Best Director
“Mad Max: Fury Road” – George Miller

Best Actor
Leonardo DiCaprio (“The Revenant”)

Best Actress
Brie Larson (“Room”)

Best Supporting Actor
Sylvester Stallone (“Creed”)

Best Supporting Actress
Alicia Vikander (“Ex Machina”)

READ MORE: The Flash - 'The Curious Case of Bartholomew Allen'

Best Original Screenplay
“Inside Out” – Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley

Best Adapted Screenplay
“The Big Short” – Charles Randolph, Adam McKay

Best Cinematography
“Mad Max: Fury Road” – John Seale

Best Production Design
“Mad Max: Fury Road” – Colin Gibson, Shira Hockman, Jacinta Leong

Best Original Score
“The Hateful Eight” – Ennio Morricone

Best Original Song
“See You Again” – DJ Frank E, Andrew Cedar, Charlie Puth, Wiz Khalifa (“Furious 7”)

Best Ensemble

Best Foreign Film
“Son of Saul”

Breakthrough Award
Alicia Vikander (“Burnt,” “The Danish Girl,” “Ex Machina,” “The Man from U.N.C.L.E.”)

Best Animated Film
“Inside Out”

Best Documentary

Oglethorpe Award for Excellence in Georgia Cinema

MORE NEWS: Carmen Electra Joins OnlyFans

Georgia Film Critics Association Website